hiswaynotmine

A young Christian woman trying to figure out the world!

1 year anniversary

Saturday was the one year anniversary of my mother’s death.  She died way too young (53 years old) of a brain tumor.  Leaving behind 2 sisters, 1 nephew, a broken hearted husband of 30 years, and 7 kids (although the youngest was 17 at the time so not so little kids).  In the year since her death are family has been stressed to the breaking with issues ranging from careers to mental and physical health of some of my siblings.  However I want to start a tradition on this anniversary to not focus on the loss of her, but on her life and her impact on my life, and the other blessings God has given me.  Here is a list of those blessings: My family I have a big family and although at times it’s hard to get along with people they have all been a blessing to me to help and teach me in this life.  My church most my life I went to a church that left me spiritually dead and 5 months before my mom passed I was introduced and started attending a church drew me close to the Holy Spirit and it has only been with God that I’ve been able to get through this year.  My friends, you truly learn who your friends are when they’re faced with a difficult situation, like a friend who’s mother has died.  They mean more to me then they will ever know! Those are the big things on my list but I am also thankful and blessed by where I live, the fact that we have never been without any of the necessities in life and have always had extra.  The thing I am most thankful for though is that God sent His son to die for my sins and that someday I will see my mom again.  I really don’t know how nonbelievers get through death because one of the most comforting things to me is that I will see her again one day in heaven.  It’s comforting in a way. I still miss her but I know that I only said see you later and not goodbye to her.  God is truly good!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

