hiswaynotmine

A young Christian woman trying to figure out the world!

In the world not of it

I think one of the hardest things to do as Christians is to be in the world not of it.  Our culture is so ingrained in us that most of us don’t flinch when we see mostly naked people, or hear someone cursing.  It has definitely been a struggle for me.  I was raised with television and movies, and my teenage years involved surfing the web.  Now little kids are on the internet too.  We’re so exposed to different cultures, different political views, and different religions and education about those things is good but I feel like I’m also deafening myself to God’s will for my life.  I feel like my head is so full of things of this world that I can’t hear God.  I don’t mean that to sound like education is bad.  I think education is great I think too many people lack education on things outside of their specific communities.  I’m talking about the things in life that don’t have any educational value that takes up so much of my time.  We recently got rid of cable in my house so I don’t watch too much television anymore, but now I find that I can waste mindless hours on the internet playing stupid games or on facebook.  I feel like God could very well be trying to do something in my life but because I have to get on facebook and see what others are up to I don’t leave Him the opportunity do something.  I’m on the internet right now but this doesn’t count as mindless as I’m in deep thought writing 🙂  In my life lust has been a problem.  You don’t hear too many women coming out and saying that but it has.  The fact that I’m not bothered by shows where unmarried couples  are living together, or where the people walk around half naked is a clear sign that it is a problem.  In the last few months I have really started to question what I watch on tv, look at on the internet, and listen to for music and I am finding that I have exposed myself to a lot of things that I shouldn’t have.  It makes me question if I wouldn’t have spent so many years filing my mind with mindless junk what I could have filled my mind with?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

