hiswaynotmine

A young Christian woman trying to figure out the world!

His way not mine

As a Christian I want to live my life the way Christ wants.  I want to follow the path He has for my life, however I find that it’s not enough to just want it.  I go to church, read my Bible, and pray (although I don’t do this as often as I should) and still I don’t feel like I’m doing what I’m meant to be.  My Pastor loves to say that until you’re sure of what God wants you to do just stay where you are and keep doing what you’re doing.  I think that is solid advice to stay put and not make any big changes till you feel moved by God, but what about on a day to day basis.  I know that the job I’m in now is not what I’m supposed to do with life.  So while I’m waiting and praying for God to show me what I’m supposed to be doing career wise I feel I need to be doing things on a regular, if not daily basis for His glory.  I want to show the world His love.  I want to show the world what He can make out of a person who was a complete disaster in most ways when they surrender themselves to Him.  While reading the book Unplanned I felt a burden on my heart from God to help somehow in a pro-life organization, which I have been involved off and on for years.  That was about 2 months and you ask what have I done to get involved?  Absolutely nothing yet I’m ashamed to say.  I have about a million excuses for why I haven’t started volunteering or even called any places yet and not a single one of them is good.  Yes, my time is limited but it’s not completely occupied.  His way not mine means that I may have to give up some time that’s devoted to something for me and give it to help those who need it.  His way not mine means that I stop making excuses as to why I’m not giving Him more of my time.  Why would God give me the things I want in life if I’m not willing to give Him anything?  While enough of the excuses and the putting off of things.  I want to truly live His way and not mine!  Tomorrow I will make time to call and talk to someone about volunteering when I’m available.  Because even though I don’t feel moved to leave the place I am right now I do feel moved to make a difference where I am today, so when I do leave this place and job I have no regrets.  I want to look back and be able to say that thanks to the Grace of God I lived as perfectly as an imperfect person can!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

